Kenneth Wilson Award

The 2013 Kenneth G. Wilson Award for Excellence in Lattice Field Theory

for significant contributions to our understanding of baryons using lattice QCD and effective field theory,

to André Walker-Loud

The prize is given annually and will consist of a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient, a modest monetary award, and an invitation to present the cited work in a short plenary talk at the International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory. The registration fee for the conference will be waived.

This award recognizes outstanding physicists who are within seven years of PhD at the time of nomination, plus any career breaks. The research recognized could either be a single piece of work, or the sum of contributions.

Nominations should consist of a nominating letter, a seconding letter, and up to two supporting letters; the nominee's CV; and a list of relevant publications (up to ten). The nominating letter should include a proposed citation (one sentence) justifying the award. All letters should explain and justify why the nominee should receive the award. Nominations will be considered for three years (or until receiving the award).

Self-nominations will not be considered. Otherwise, anyone may submit a nomination. Recipients are not eligible for a second award. Nominations of scientists from all nations are solicited.

For nominations submitted for the 2013 award, nominees must have received a PhD (or equivalent) after December 31, 2005 (with suitable adjustment in cases with career breaks). Send nominations to the Selection Committee chair by April 5, 2013.

The 2013 Selection Committee consists of:

  • (Chair) 
  • Shoji Hashimoto 
  • Karl Jansen (2011 recipient) 
  • Stephen Sharpe (Vice-Chair) 
  • Maria Paola Lombardo