Visa Requirements

Germany does not require visas from EU/EEA citizens for stays of any duration or for any purpose. Citizens of Australia, Brazil, Canada, Israel, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, the US and some other countries will also not require a visa for stays of up to 90 days.

Countries whose citizens will require a visa include the PR China, India, Iran, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, and Turkey.

For a detailed list of countries whose citizens do and don't require visas to enter Germany, see this list from the German Foreign Office (Auswärtiges Amt). For more on visa procedures, see here.

If you require a visa, please let the LOC know as soon as possible by email to

with the subject "LATTICE2013 - request for invitation, YOUR NAME", so that we can issue you with a letter of invitation. Please do not forget to provide your postal address!

You should also keep in mind that both the delivery of the letter by mail from Germany to your country and the processing of your visa application will take some time.